App Review: One Momento


£1.79 in iTunes

Not sure how I found this app but I’m so glad I did. Momento is a diary for your iPhone allowing you to write entries and add photos and tags to them. However it also has a little addition that makes it really useful.

Momento will pull in feeds from your Twitter, Facebook, Flickr, Foursquare etc. accounts and add them into your diary.


Any RSS feed will also work, i.e. a WordPress blog feed. So Momento creates daily entries automatically from your status updates, check-ins, blog posts etc without any manual labour on your part. So lazy. So brilliant.

The functionality’s there to export it all via iTunes file sharing so you can back-up/restore to Momento and also view the entries and photos outside of the app on a pc. I like the confidence this gives that, even if in future the phone and app go the way of the dinosaurs, the content can be kept and viewed elsewhere.

Since I set up & configured Momento, I’ve kept a regular diary with practically no effort on my part. In my view the best apps add value to life with minimal work and hassle. They enable us, free us, and bring enjoyment. Momento hits the spot.


– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

3 thoughts on “App Review: One Momento

  1. Pingback: App Review – A Smattering of iPhone Apps « When Twitter Isn't Enough

  2. Hi Sarah,

    I am working for a company called “Loccit” which is a service that competes with some of the functionality of Momento but with a few significant twists and I’d be interested in your opinion. Sorry to post in the comment box but I couldn’t find a contact email and am keen to get in touch.

    If you’re interested, please let me know how to send you some more information and maybe a press release.

    Best regards,
    Fraser

Tell me what you think

